Re-Order

I tried to re-order my world
The land is the sea
The sea solid under foot
I walked over the shingle
Deep breaths of the sodium air
And drowned

I tried to re-order my day and night
The moon is the sun
The sun is the moon I said
But the night-time world was cold
And my body craved the light
Paler and paler I grew and blind

I tried to re-order my body
I am he I said
But the child at my breast
And the blood between my legs
Laughed loud

The rose kept its given name
While I kept mine
A sun came up
And a moon went down
And another and another

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Re-Order

  1. Bloggeuse says:

    Unbelievably beautiful, and so true.

Leave a Reply

