Standing By

I cannot bear
I cannot bear
I cannot bear
The weight of hate
The sadness tugging
At a heart broken
From the constant pain
The perpetual loss
A motion that won’t stop
Daily death
Daily loss
Sanctioned murder
I cannot bear
That we won’t learn
How to stop
Tearing infants from breasts
Babes from arms
Making them bury their loves
Their lives
I cannot bear the lines
Etched fear
Upon fear
Upon fear
Of oceans or battlegrounds
Of starvation or drowning
Which would you choose
For your child?
I cannot bear
I cannot bear
That I stand by
Sit by
Turn over
Tune out
Standing by
Sitting by
Turning over
Tuning out

Donate to the Red Cross Refugee Appeal here;

http://m.redcross.org.uk/Donate-Now/Make-a-single-donation/Europe-Refugee-Crisis-Appeal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

