She Said He Said

I said you only knew me
In reverse
As the absence of the there
The othering a daily chore

You said I was sensitive
Too fragile
Too quick to judge
Too emotional

I said I wasn’t born that way
The world had forced me so
Had painted me pink and white
And chopped up the easel

You said I was full of hate
Full of anger
Full of shit
Twisting your words

I said I did hate
And hate is learned
When all that you are is hated
Try dialling down that righteous anger

You said it wasn’t so
It wasn’t universal hatred
It wasn’t all men
It wasn’t

I looked you in the eye
And dared you
To stare right back
And say that with a straight face

You could not.

I’ll give you that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

