A Better Man

I tried
You said
To be a better man
I did what I could
I did my fair share
Sat on a seesaw
Trimmed with velvet
Dripping in honey
Tipped to the heavy

I tried
You said
To be a better man
To level a playing field
Riddled with potholes
That you had a map for
And a shovel and terf
But the holes stayed unfilled
You just followed your map

I tried
You said
To be a better man
To carry the burden
Of a job you chose
Of a life you chose
Of a wife you chose
Of a path you chose
Where anything goes

Where your clothes are
Yours
And your words are
Yours
And your home is
Yours
And your food is
Yours
And your body is
Yours
Your choices yours

I tried
You said
To be a better man
While the other men
They tried too
All trying
So hard
With gentle eyes
And sincere words
And hipster beards

Men of action
Men in space
Men splitting atoms
Men cloning sheep
Men cheating death
Men with the will
To even-steven the world?
They’re still trying
Oh so very hard
They must be shattered

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

