The Metal Yard

Coat me in gold leaf
The edible kind
For I am consumable
Unwrap me
And devour

Sprinkle me with silver sugar balls
That live atop cakes
For I am decorative
A luxury
A bad habit

Brush me with bronze
Burnish me in steel
Watch my copper oxidise
And my iron rust
As I stand out facing the storm

Wrap me in arms
Held at their length
Breathe in my collarbones
And swallow my heartbeat
A metronome to count on

Lift me and swing me
Sway me and move me
Convince me of a truth told
Or I’ll dance far far away
Out of this metal yard

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Metal Yard

  1. Zanna says:

    Reminds me of this:
    “extraction is an ideology, gendered and gendering”
    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/aug/19/david-cameron-fracking-mania-machismo
    And of Alice Walker’s writing in The Temple of My Familiar where she imagines that in early human times most Africans felt that the earth was like a body that needed all its organs. The ore-diggers went north…

Leave a Reply

