My Apology

I’m so very very sorry
For the hatred inflicted
For the ignoring of such basic needs
For the cutting of the surface
For the starvation
For the purging
I’m desperately sorry for the decades of an untamed loathing
For the cruelty in words spat
And words held back
The refusal to look at you
To see your sorrow
For the constant questioning
Of your intent
Your ability
I’m ashamed of the levels
Of vitriol slung your way
For the jibes and the speaking over
For the denials when you stood
Up there facing your fears
I am sorry
For a cruelty I have never shown another
I’m sorry that I’ve dropped it at your door
You
Who has been with me since birth
My constant companion
My far better half
In my 39th year I have finally
Found you
I will cherish
I acknowledge
I love
And we will thrive

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

