Shins And Heels

I look at the corner of the blanket
It’s all that I see
And the pavement beneath
He snuggles
In for warmth
Fur and ribs
I stare down
Not up
No eyes catch mine when I do
I’m hollow
A young man
In an old, old body
The cold and hard
Aging me
Ahead of the clock
No eyes catch mine
They never have
The shins
And heels
And the corner of the blanket
All I see
The cold beneath me
The wind and rain
Carousel my head
Whipping at my eyes
And cheeks
So I bury deeper
Hold him close
And wait for morning
For the shins and heels

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

