The Matryoshka Doll

Paint my lips red
My cheeks rose petal pink
Coat me in a veneer
Brittle to the touch
Hard to open
And when you turn me
Rigid and unmoving
And you open me
Because you can
Because you will
Another me
Only smaller
More fragile
Will be found nestling within
Red lips
Veneer
And you’ll open me
Because you can
Because you will
To uncover
Another smaller still
Cowering
And you’ll open me
Because you can
Because you will
Until all that’s left of me
Is a tiny replica
And you’ll hold me in your palm
Because you can
Because you do
image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

